It’s time to ship!

Seth Godin in his bestseller book ‘Linchpin‘ talks about some very interesting & inspiring concepts…life changing if you can make it happen. One of the 3 topics that most inspired me was ‘to ship’.

Let me explain the concept using a very simple example – this blog!

I have been thinking about blogging forever. I even tried my hand at it for a short while but then gave up. While I had an idea (to blog) and often have thoughts (random as they might be) that I believe are worth sharing, I never really got down to blogging. And therefore, while I had an idea & sometimes even a product, I wasn’t shipping.

So what is reason behind this (not shipping)? Seth gives credit to the ‘lizard brain’. In his own words – “The lizard brain is the reason you’re afraid, the reason you don’t do all the art you can, the reason you don’t ship when you can. The lizard brain is the source of the resistance.”

The way to overpower the lizard brain is to not give in to the resistance. To go on and ship…irrespective of how ‘imperfect’ the output might be. Because if Sachin Tendulkar had waited to enter the Indian national cricket team until he had perfected all his batting shots, then he might have missed out on some very important ‘experience’ that made him the player he was.

So here I am…shipping! And I will continue to……!

Later…

PS: Thank you Suhail Merchant for gifting me this book.

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

