No time! Really?

Role models can be any where. I have been fortunate to find one in a very good friend. While there is much to be admired about him, the specific quality I am referring to here is his ability to pull time out for something he believes in…no matter what.

He became a part of an NGO almost 8 years back. I remember he telling me back then that he had to spend 3 weekends in a training, and I wondered if I would be willing to invest even a single day of one weekend. Anyway, he was single back then and an entrepreneur. Taking out 4 hours every week for the NGO was not too much trouble.

And then he got married. Somewhere deep inside I knew the NGO will be difficult to sustain. But he carried on. He then joined the corporate world and this time I was more confident, but he still managed to get time out. A few years later he was blessed with a child, and knowing how much he loved spending time with children, it seemed natural for him to now consider leaving the NGO. But he still did not. It has been 8 years now and he still remains as committed.

I have asked him many a times how he still manages to take time out for the NGO and all he says in his modest humble way is – I just manage!

A few months back when I saw a note on FB about a theater workshop starting, I immediately called the number. But after I got to know that the workshop will be conducted on weekends from 10 AM to 12 PM, my immediate doubt was – Do I have the time? I thought of my friend, I thought about how much I wanted to do this, and I took the plunge. And guess what, I did have the time.

Now every time I think of doing something new, I don’t let the excuse ‘I don’t have time!’ bog me down. Because thanks to my friend, my role model, I know that if I really want to do something, I will be able to ‘just manage’!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No time! Really?

  1. nidhi sachdev says:

    So true. Many of us still need to take that plunge

    Like

  2. Neelima kaushik says:

    I believe we have to make time, there’s no time but like you said if you want to do something you will make the time for it.Keep going Amit.

    Like

  3. Yaara… I am definitely not doing half as good a job as it sounds like in the blog… 🙂

    The NGO, it takes very little from me… and gives me a lot in return! 🙂 May be that’s why I have been able to ‘Just Manage’ 🙂 .

    Thank you for writing this, makes me feel nice… reminds me again of so many things I don;t do now… which I’d love to. 🙂 . Need to manage better… much better! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

